Home » Independent Soul Music News » Heston up for BETJ Virtual Award, Wayna’s ‘My Love’ video hitting soon and Kate Schutt’s final Jazz Brunch…

Heston up for BETJ Virtual Award, Wayna’s ‘My Love’ video hitting soon and Kate Schutt’s final Jazz Brunch…

– Vol 1, Issue 1

In This Issue
Friendly Links
Friends and Fam
Is it 2009 yet? Did I tell you I can’t wait to see 2008 behind me. I think we can all attest to that…. It seems like everyone I know is headed to D.C for the inauguration. I’m going to have to make plans to be there too….

So does everyone have their Turkey’s in order. How about the stuffing? I have just noticed a spike in Thailand and Czech Republic. I have no idea why or what’s going on in Bloom Effect land over there but it is very interesting…

Saw Maxwell over the weekend. Was phenomenal. So glad to see him back on top. Made me realize how much I really missed him. His performance was stellar. Women and men were besides themselves…. His musicians were as funky as ever and Maxwell’s moves surpassed my most sensual fantasies…Wow….

Today I visited Felicia Palmer at the SOHH Online Hip Hop Awards taping… That will broadcast over the internet next Monday. It brought back memories as I did the Voice Over for the online awards in 2000…

Let’s see what else…. Things wind down and folks can actually relax a little the next couple days…..

Lots coming up for December including holiday parties and events.. So stay tuned and locked into The Bloom Effect for your source to the hotness!

Singer/songwriter/instrumentalist/producer Heston is really starting to gain momentum for this long awaited debut that’s out now called ‘ Storyteller’. If you haven’t heard it yet- I suggest you pick up a copy from Soultracks, Amazon, ITunes, and any of the online retailers…


Heston will have a much wider release in ’09 and will be released on a label(TBD) in Europe too… If you’re by a TV this evening…Tune in to BETJ’s Virtual Awards....Airs at 8PM…. Heston is up for ‘Best Underground Artist’.


He’s at Center Stage in Atlanta- December 5th. Dec 6th at Sol Lounge in St. Louis and at The Blue Note on Friday, Jan 31st– The Late Night Series….


Keep your eyes peeled to Heston….He’s going places for real…… He was just featured on Michael Baisden’s show last Friday…

Checking out Raw Fusion tonight….Scribe’s be on me for ages about coming through- can’t let him or OP down…..Excited tonight as Zaki Ibrahim is performing…


Wednesday I suggest going to see Los Amigos Invisibles at Irving Plaza… Friday- Slick Rick at Highline Ballroom….


I will start featuring interviews and tidbits you’ll only read on my blog so stay tuned and keep reading…


Shouts to Kissey Asplund, Miz Metro, Dred Scott and Elida from Dirty Fuzz. I’m looking for more contributors….Hit me up if interested….


I’m getting tons of traffic on the blog so thanks for spreading the love…Bookmark it. Keep coming…. The Bloom Blog.

Hopefully by now you’ve all heard Wayna’s name somewhere. She has 2 great albums out. The first called ‘Moments of Clarity’ and the sophomore release just out called ‘Higher Ground’. Her first single off ‘Higher Ground’ called ‘My Love’ has been climbing up the Billboard singles chart and peaked at #2 on the R&B/Hip Hop….


Her ‘My Love’ video just screened in Baltimore at Maxwell’s after party….He and Wayna had a nice chat and we got photos….You’ll see them shortly…


She’s on the way to S.Africa now for meetings and then to Ethiopia for a big music festival….. She’s in Norfolk w/ Fuzz Band on Jan 14th.. Save the date: The Blue Note- Friday, April 3rd….


You’ll be seeing ‘My Love’ video on all the outlets and heavily online soon as well as features/interviews….

So the Knitting Factory is getting ready to close its doors but in the meantime – they’re going out with a bang and bringing some fine Hip Hop programming that’s going to make your knees wobble and your palms sweat…..


SAVE THE DATE & Spread the word! Sun, Dec 7th in NYC @ the Knitting Factory. The Knit is bringing you the full Diggin in The Crates Crew! D.I.T.C. Diamond D Lord Finesse O.C. A.G. + Special Guests (there are a lot of cats in that crew!) & The Legion and Craig G: Who knows who else might show up? @ Knitting Factory NYC Sun, Dec 7th All Ages. 8pm. Tix on Ticketweb.com, Fat Beats, Knit Box Office


And when was the last time you saw Diamond rock the mic???!!!

Singer/Songwriter Kate Schutt has impressed World Cafe Live with her melodies, vocal abilities and dynamic songs….This artist has 2 albums out… Her debut ‘No Love Lost’ and now ‘Telephone Game’ which will have a hard launch early next year…


She’s been doing a residency at World Cafe Live Jazz Brunch Series.…She has a killer trio….One date left!!!!! Sunday, December 14th will see John Ellis on Sax, Alan Ferber on Trombone and Jason Faulkner the 17 year old drummer phenom from Philly….


Get your tickets now! In fact- I am thinking about going down to Philly that day….Care to join me?

I’m so excited about this one…..’93 Till Infinity’ is still one of my fave tracks and a hip hop classic and guess what….Souls of Mischief will be performing at The Knitting Factory….Another great show….Peter Agoston is pulling out all the magic tricks….


Tuesday, December 16th…. Doors at 8PM. Opening up is Tanya Morgan and A-Ok Collective…


I’ve seen Souls about 10 times and loved them every time. My fave ever show though was 1994 at Tramps….Will never forget it….

Oh the holiday season is upon us…. So the economy is down, the outlook bleak but one thing is for sure….Barack Obama will steer us right……Change is everywhere and we’re always certain to party at the worst times….Give us a drink, drown our sorrows and kiss and hug as good times are around the corner….

Yep- like we need an excuse to party…. Speaking of….Kevin Powell’s holiday party is Dec 12th- TBA…. RAKIM is Dec 19th at The Knitting Factory. OMG

I might be giving a holiday party myself- stay tuned……and in January- an amazing artist from Detroit who I love goes by the name of Monica Blaire will be debuting in NY….Jan 21-23rd- Save the dates!!!

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday if you’re in the U.S and all abroad- hope to see you all soon.

Sincerely,


Fiona Bloom

The Bloom Effect


Leave a Reply

